M. Lynn Crismon, PharmD, FCCP, BCPP

Dr. Crismon is the Behrens Inc. Centennial Professor in Pharmacy and Associate Dean for Clinical Programs at The University of Texas College of Pharmacy. He also serves as Director of the Psychiatric Pharmacy Program, with faculty appointments in the Divisions of Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacy Administration, Pharmacotherapy, and the Center for Pharmacoeconomnic Studies. He serves as a Clinical Psychopharmacology Consultant for the State Medical Director for Behavioral Health Services, Texas Department of State Health Services, and he is a member of the faculty for the Psychiatry Residency Program, Austin Medical Education Programs, Seton Health Network.

Dr. Crismon received his BS degree in Pharmacy from The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from a joint program of The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He completed residencies in pharmacy practice at the USPHS Gallup Indian Medical Center and in psychiatric pharmacy practice at The University of Texas and San Antonio State Hospital, and completed a National Endowment for the Humanities–funded summer fellowship in biomedical ethics at the Kennedy Institute for Ethics, Georgetown University. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Pharmacology, and he is also board certified in psychiatric pharmacy by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties.

His research and practice focus on evidence based psychiatry and the development and evaluation of strategies to improve the pharmacotherapy, pharmacoeconomics, and health outcomes of adults and children with severe and persistent mental disorders. Dr. Crismon served as Co-Director of the Texas Medication Algorithm Project and as Director of the Children's Medication Algorithm Project. He has received grants from numerous sources, and has over 200 publications in print. He directs a nationally recognized residency program in psychiatry pharmacy and a graduate research education program in mental health outcomes research, having supervised over 35 trainees. Six of his research trainees have received the New Investigator Award at the NIMH NCDEU Meeting.